If You Give a Three Year Old a Muffin!

We made blueberry muffins, inspired by our newest book obsession If You Give a Moose a Muffin! The classic book is in the If You Give a Mouse a Cookie series and personally one of my favorites, written before the books got a little overdone. My son pulled this book off of the book shelf the other day when I was searching for a book for circle and I approved. Since then we have read this book no less than 50 times! I can recite it with my eyes closed, and so can some of my kiddos! With all of this muffin talk, and a mass amount of blueberries in my freezer from this summer, we embarked on a search for a good muffin recipe! Thanks to my cousin, Aimee Ask, I think that we succeeded! They were delicious, and the kids always love to cook!

Here is the recipe and some pictures of the little chefs.

Streusel topping
1/4 C. Flour
1/4 C. Packed brown sugar
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
2 tbsp. firm butter
Mix dry ingredients and cut in butter. Set aside.

Muffin dough
3/4 C. Milk
1/4 C. Oil
1 lg. egg
2 C. Flour
1/2 C. Sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 C. Blueberries. ( I always use a heaping cup of blueberries. So maybe closer to 1 1/2 C.)

Mix dry ingredients and set aside.  In a separate bowl beat milk, oil & eggs with fork. Stir in dry ingredients until flour mixture is just moist. Fold in blueberries      (Grease bottoms only on cupcake pan) Put in cupcake pan and add about 1 tbsp. of streusel on top of each muffin. Bake 20-25 mins @ 400 degrees.  Let sit 5 mins before removing from pan.
Makes 12 cupcake sized muffins DSCN1176 DSCN1179 DSCN1186 DSCN1188 DSCN1187

Leave a Reply

