Candy Cane Playdough!

We make play dough about once a month and play with it daily, and I just realized that I have never posted about play dough! I somehow always try a different recipe for play dough and inevitably end up irritated with myself when the it turns out fabulous and  of course I didn’t save the recipe. I have experimented with no-cook versions as well as stovetop recipes and I always go back to the no cook brand. I love that the kids can all work together to help me make the play dough and they have a certain stake in a product that they personally made. Not to mention they LOVE measuring, dumping and mixing, they are also perfecting all of those oh so important skills like pre-reading, science, and pre-writing (once we begin to play with the stuff). Here is an approximation of the recipe that I’ve liked the most lately:

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup Boiling Water
  • 1 Cup Flour
  • 1/2 Cup Salt
  • 2 Tbs Cream of Tartar
  • 1 Tbs Vegetable Oil (or whatever oil you have on hand)
  • Food coloring

Mix all ingredients together, add food coloring and mix and mix. Once the play dough starts to thicken you can start to knead the play dough and may need to add more flour while kneading.

We usually add an essential oil to the mix to add an olfactory sensory experience to the mix. This round we added peppermint. It smells so nice! I also dug out some candy canes from last year to enhance the play, the boys made candy cane castles, roads, and forests! Of course they tried to eat a few and the candy canes had to be tossed by day two, they made the play dough a little slimy, but totally enhanced the scent 🙂

DSCN1393 DSCN1391DSCN1396DSCN1398DSCN1392

Leave a Reply

