“This is the way we make huckabuck bread!”

So it’s not really huck-a-buck bread, actually I never even knew about huck-a-buck bread until I started doing a little research on baking bread with kiddos. Apparently this special bread is somewhat of a tradition in  Waldorf schools, and I can see why. We had so much fun making the bread, and eating it of course, I think I would like to make a loaf a week and incorporate it into our menus.

The bread idea, I stumbled upon one morning at 5:00 am.  I was sitting up with an infant that comes over two days a week hours before the sun rises. The little one was fast asleep and I was pounding coffee and doing my usual morning internet routine. I started to read a bit about clean eating and really got to thinking about it. We have gone through phases of more or less healthy eating in our family but lately had been on a real processed food binge. Clean eating is a simple idea and something that I could really wrap my head around so I dove in, pinning recipes and slowly making the switch to a much more whole foods approach to our eating. We have only been at it for about a week and we are phasing ourselves into it. Rob’s body may go into shock if he quits top ramen cold turkey. One of the ideas behind clean eating is making most of your foods from scratch. In comes the huck-a-buck bread.

The recipe we used is sort of an adaptation from Crafty Moms recipe but we used all whole wheat flour. The thing I loved most of all about her recipe was the song that she included. We love new songs and it helped the kids really get into kneading the bread. Also one side note. I have never made bread of any sort! So we were all beginners. I think that with practice we may get a bit better but I felt like for first timers our results were superb!

Here is the recipe but like I said we did not use bread flour, it may have been better with bread flour but we wanted it to be entirely whole grain.

Ingredients:
2 cups bread flour  Whole Wheat Flour
1 package active dry yeast
1/3 cup of honey (not sure I used a 1/3 of a cup since I used whatever I had left)
3 Tablespoons butter (we made our own butter too! we feel very pioneer like)
1 teaspoon salt
1 3/4 cups water
3 cups whole wheat flour

We started by mixing the yeast and the first two cups of flour together.

DSCN1673 DSCN1674Next we put the honey, butter, water and salt into a sauce pan. I heated it on the stove just long enough for the butter to melt.DSCN1676

Then we poured the warm butter mixture into the flour and mixed again, it was fun to watch the yeast bubble. DSCN1677

Next we added two cups of flour and mixed it the best we could. It says to add another 1 1/2 cups but I don’t think we added that much, it was just too thick!

Here comes the fun! Time for kneading! While we kneaded our dough we sang this song (and then all day and night after we were done kneading too!)

Chorus: It’s down with your heals and up with your hands.
This is the way you make huckabuck bread.
 
My mother and father have just gone to bed.
They left me alone to make huckabuck bread.
Chorus
 
My sister and brother have just gone to bed.
They left me alone to make huckabuck bread.
Chorus
 
My kitty and doggy have just gone to bed.
They left me alone to make huckabuck bread.
Chorus

DSCN1678

DSCN1681 DSCN1683When we felt like the dough was good and kneaded we put it all back together, placed it in a lightly oiled pan with a towel over the top and then into the warm stove to let it rise. I let it rise for an hour and a half then punched it down and formed the dough into two loaves and back into the oven to rise for another 45 mins. When the dough had nearly doubled I turned the oven to 375 and let the bread bake for 35-40 minutes. (The recipe called for about ten minutes longer but when I checked on it they were definitely done at 35 minutes.)

Viola! Bread!

DSCN1062 Served with our homemade butter and a bit of honey!DSCN1066 Spreading takes concentration!DSCN1067 DSCN1069 Yum!DSCN1070

Leave a Reply

