Swirly Shaving Cream and Baby Safe Version as Well!

We have never played with shaving cream! Gasp! I know it’s crazy, almost an early childhood sensory abomination! But I always forget to get it when I’m at the store and my past experiences with shaving cream is that kids play for about two minutes and leave you with a huge mess to clean up. By chance I remembered to grab some the other day on my shopping trip and I’m happy that I did. We have had some seriously messy fun for the past two days.

We started off with the basic, rub your hands all around in the stuff, and as I expected, the kids decided minutes later that they were “done!” But I was prepared and quickly added tinker toys to the mix. I had some very intrigued little ones on my hands. The tinker toys in the shaving cream were a perfect mix! They could build and stack beyond their normal parameters thanks to the shaving cream holding it all together. I didn’t get pictures because I was elbow deep in a super cool castle/helicopter, depending on who you asked.  Today we covered the entire table with shaving cream and and then I sprinkled colors sporadically on the top of the white peaks. Watching it mix and swirl was awesome! We had so much of the fluffy white stuff on the table that their attention held for quite a while. The big kids had such a good time that I knew I had to find a way for the babies to get in on all of that fun!DSCN1729 DSCN1730 DSCN1734 DSCN1733

Now time for the baby safe “shaving cream”. I don’t have a real issue with babies playing with just plain old shaving cream other than the harshness of it on their skin, and It would be pretty sad if it got in their eyes. Soooo I have found a similar alternative. I put about a 1/2 Tbl of baby Shampoo, the lavender kind because I like the smell, in my Ninja with a splash of water, probably less that 1/4 of a cup and then blended until all I had was thick suds, maybe 1 min. I popped the soapy “shaving cream” onto the tray of the high chair and let Miss Etta go to town. She was in heaven, smearing it all over the place, I added beaded necklaces, the Mardi Gras kind, and a couple of shape blocks. This was very entertaining to her! She would get so excited when she cleared a spot of all the soap that she would squeal with joy! I left it white this time but I plan on adding color for our next soapy adventure. I had originally worried about a lot of it going in her mouth. I was pleasantly surprised, she only tasted it once and decided the soap tasted nothing like her yummy avocados!DSCN1725 DSCN1728

Leave a Reply

