Table Top Printing

“Paintbrushes stay at the easel.” “Markers are for paper.” These are the things I say about one hundred times a day to my budding artist. This little artist requires a marker or a  paintbrush in her hand at all times. This little one also happens to be 19 months old so my constant muttering about appropriate places to use art materials are somewhat moot. I think that I may have shot myself in the foot with this most recent project, and I suppose that I deserve it whatever type of table painting and drawing that happens from this point forward.

It was absolutely worth it! There is something about painting on the table that is just so wonderful! We have a glass top table so it does make this activity (or cleanup) a bit easier for us, but a piece of plexiglass, or even real glass placed on top of the table would work for this project as well. Since we have a glass top table I started prep by drawing a rectangle in front of each child’s space. That rectangle would be their allotted painting area. Surprisingly they did well with their limitations. Of course they were super excited to paint on the table (as was I) and once I showed them how to press their paper onto the newly painted masterpieces they were ecstatic. After they got the hang of things these kids were mass producing masterpieces in no time. E had one for each of his aunts and uncles set aside and of course for his best YiYi sister.

DSCN1745 DSCN1746 DSCN1747 DSCN1752 DSCN1750 DSCN1753 DSCN1751

2 thoughts on “Table Top Printing

Leave a Reply

