Slime Baskets! What was I thinking?!?

We have made slime, or gak lots of times before. A few months ago, when we were in a serious slime phase, I found Growing a Jeweled Rose’s post on Slime Baskets. I got super excited and ran out and bought some baskets at the dollar tree that would be perfect for letting slime sift through. Once I got my baskets and all of my other dollar tree goodies home I kind of forgot why I bought them and just ended up filling them with craft supplies. So there they sat pinecones in one and pom-poms in the other, and there they should have stayed! But no, this morning when E asked to make slime I remembered those great oozing pictures, the kids smiling and laughing as the slime dripped down on top of them and I quickly emptied our craft buckets and strung them over the sensory table. Now a smart person may have moved this project outside, or maybe I should’ve had the kids take their shirts off or something! But me, I just foolishly let them at it! I’m not usually one to worry about mess at all but this was even a bit much for me. We used Growing A Jeweled Rose’s recipe that was a little runnier for optimal ooziness.

How to make Slime Basket Slime:

  • 1 teaspoon of borax
  • 1 1/3 cups very warm water

(Combine in a small bowl )

In a separate bowl Combine

  • 2 Cups of White School Glue
  • 1 1/2 cups very warm water
  • A few drops of food coloring if color is desired

Mix the contents of both bowls well.  Once mixed combine both bowls together and mix for several minutes until the desired consistency is reached.

The slime was definitely oozy and drippy, I may try our original slime recipe next time we do this just to cut down a bit on the stickiness. It didn’t seem to bother the kids much! They played for nearly an hour with these oozy slime buckets. We added scissors for cutting that drippy slime and I gave in to the mess and decided to worry about cleaning it when the kids were napping. I even let the baby sit in the sensory table to get in on the action, this was a bit unsuccessful since she wanted to eat it (naturally) and she got super mad when I stopped her.  Im excited to try again when the weather gets warm so we can get clean in the sprinklers! Until then I can live with a little slime in the hair, and carpet and on the blankies and stuffed animals… 😉 .
Image 23

Image 18Image 25

Image 21

Image 20

Leave a Reply

