Gluten Free Dairy Free Birthday Pancakes!

Birthdays are a source of great memories as a child, a day to feel special, a day to know that you are important, a day to celebrate a person! Birthdays are a wonderful self-esteem booster for anyone! I love birthdays!

Now when I think about a birthday party I often think of over indulgence, grand productions and a focus on stuff rather than the sweet child in which we are celebrating! Why such a disconnect from what is important?

In my home and in my childcare I try to focus on those wonderful things about a birthday that elicit that happy feeling inside. About a year ago I started a little tradition. Instead of a big colorful cupcake or cake (don’t get me wrong we do that too sometimes) we start the day off with special birthday pancakes! The children help me make them and we try different recipes for each birthday. Sometimes we add a colorful fruit to the pancake, sometimes we add a few sprinkles, but we always have candles!

This year I have a couple of kiddos who do not do gluten or dairy. Since pancakes are pretty much just gluten and dairy I thought that we would miss out on our birthday pancakes when the little one’s special day came. But I did a little searching and we tried a new recipe that was a huge hit! The tradition lives on!

Another part of the fun on these special days is that while we consume our tasty pancakes we go around the table and each child says something that they like about the birthday child, sometimes the responses are pretty generic, “I like his monster truck shirt.” But other times they are wonderful and sweet and make me remember why I love working with kids, ” I love it when we play trains together and he lets me use the red train, we have so much fun together!”

Here is our recipe for gluten free dairy free pancakes, they were tasty!

1 cup coconut flour
1 Tbsp Stevia (we used a little less)
2 tsp gluten free baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1 cup coconut milk
1 egg
1 Tbsp coconut oil
1/2 tsp vanilla

We mixed it all together in no particular order, coated the pan with coconut oil and flipped when they looked ready! When baking with the kids I often pre measure and label the bowls to help with pre reading skills. The kids can usually look at the recipe and find the bowl labeled with the correct ingredient. The younger kids just love to mix!

IMG_4353

IMG_4355

IMG_4356

IMG_4357

IMG_4358

IMG_4359

IMG_4362

IMG_4363

IMG_4364

IMG_4365

Leave a Reply

